Falcons Award Night 2017

Leicester Falcons celebrated their season in their 2017 Awards Night, held at the Locker Room in Leicester. The club looked back at their 2017 campaign, where they reached the Division 1 semi-finals in their first season following promotion, coming just one game, and one touchdown, short of promotion to the Premier League.
Offensive MVP was awarded to running back Nat Eaves in recognition of his eight rushing touchdowns. Eaves (pictured above receiving his award from club President Guy Kersey) dominated in his role as the Falcons’ power back, running over multiple defenders over the course of the season.
Defensive MVP was awarded to defensive back Taylor Brown, who excelled all over the field. In addition to his eight interceptions Brown scored touchdowns on the complete set of offense, defence and special teams.
Team MVP, in recognition of his actions both on and off the field, was awarded to lineman Perry Summers.
Rookies of the year were awarded to Matthew Ukandu, who quickly established himself as a mainstay of the offensive line, and defensive lineman Oleg Stroi, who contributed three sacks and multiple backfield stops in his first season.
Each positional group was also awarded an MVP, with the running back award going to Adam Gumbs, Jack Verling taking the receivers’ award and longtime Falcon Richard Swain winning the offensive line award. On the defensive side, Luke Geary won the defensive lineman award, best linebacker went to Kurt Davy, and best defensive back was awarded to midseason transfer Dom Olney.
Finally the Chairman’s Award, for off the field and behind the scenes contributions, went to Press Officer and stadium announcer Joel Pearson. Pearson has established himself as one of the leading commentators in Britball.
The club also outlined their innovative and exciting plans for 2018, which will be unveiled in the upcoming months.